Skip to content

Does Governor Mitch Daniels’ Latest Campaign Commercial Borrow From Disney?

May 9, 2008

I hate to do this but the post that answers that question has been moved here. No tricks. Honest. When I wrote this post in May, this site was a catch-all, it’s now more narrowly focused on pop culture. My personal site’s where I talk about politics, way too much! It’s still worth the click and I left all the old comments here, that’s worth something, right?? 😉

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    May 9, 2008 3:45 pm

    ah, ahoy matey! And good of you to also see the similarities. Has Governor Daniels turned (good) Pirate? Avast! Anyhow – I have been playing his commercial theme song and enjoying the “Piratey” sound of it immensely…. Yohoho and a bottle of ?

  2. Laura permalink
    May 9, 2008 4:16 pm

    p.s. – the two melodies are definitely in the same time signature; however, I am not a good enough musician to know/tell if they are in the same key…..

  3. seeker65 permalink*
    May 9, 2008 4:37 pm

    Lol – I know. When I first heard the commercial, I was in my kitchen and thought it was an ad for some Pirates DVD or Video Game. I cracked up when I saw it was a Daniels ad. I half expected him to show up at the end dressed like Capt. Jack on top of his RV sailing the back roads of Indiana. arrr.

  4. Ron permalink
    May 9, 2008 4:49 pm

    Funny, someone just asked me who wrote the music and I said “Don’t know but it sounds like a cross between music from RiverDance and Pirates of the Caribbean. Then I decided to google “Music for Mitch Daniel Commercial” and – FMS this popped up.

  5. Poowaddins permalink
    May 9, 2008 7:12 pm

    Yar-har-fiddle-dee-dee, being a pirate is alright to be, do what you want because a pirate is free, you are a pirate!

    I think its a fun political commercial, at least it’s not all nasty and attacking like that Long-Thompson’s were prior to the primary.

    Maybe we should send Daniels his own Jolly Roger to fly above the statehouse? 😉

  6. Terry Sowka permalink
    May 10, 2008 1:27 am

    Well, Mitch did dress as a pirate for recent Halloween at the guv’s mansion….

    I’m waiting for Jill Long Thompson to say he’s pirating away state money with contracts like the toll road lease. Har.

  7. seeker65 permalink*
    May 10, 2008 12:44 pm

    Ouch! Bad pun!lol

    I mistakenly deleted the comment (sorry) but someone named ‘Alex’ left this comment which I posted just below the Pirate’s Theme YouTube. Here it is again.

    We have an answer!! Thanks to a comment from Alex.
    It is called “Mutiny on the Sea” by Mark Petrie.

    I also linked to Mark Petrie’s site, just click the word “here”.

  8. Melissa permalink
    January 12, 2009 8:22 am

    Wow! Thanks for doing the research for me… I’m putting this song on my MP3 player for when I work out!

Leave a comment