Skip to content

What Is Happing To This World

May 2, 2008

Evelyn Lois Page, 81What is happening to this World? Maybe I’m just naive, I’ve never experienced road rage. I really don’t get angry that much (those who know me can attest that I’m telling the truth here). When I do get angry I never learned that it was bad or I would be unloved for showing it or expressing it. I was course corrected by my parents. Sometimes it was a long talk, sometimes a quick smack on the bottom. I long ago learned the futility of anger at things that are out of my control.

I’ve learned to use prayer and meditate. I create a spacious container so that I can feel the anger without creating more anger. How can I ease my mind to the point that anger can arise and not be a hemorrhaging of resentment, rage or revenge, but rather a set of sensations and feelings that I experience, giving rise to healing and nourishing? Taking a breath, sinking into that space of not knowing, not judging, I must first surrender to the feeling of anger. Being the anger completely is not knowing, not being caught up with the story of my anger–which is really a distraction. The story of our anger is not the thing itself. To me, this is a long version of the simple and popular expression, “Let Go and Let God.” I play with my kids, call them, I write a story in my head, I do something creative in PhotoShop, I read. ANYTHING!

I’m not perfect, I have lots of other bad habits. So I guess I just don’t understand the fighting videos on YouTube and the angry exes videos. I have two exes, one I’m fine with the other I still have resentment toward, it’s just something I have to live with. I refuse to give either of them power over me.

So when I watched the news the other night and I see this poor screwed-up girl, 19-year-old Jessica Vasquez, I just wonder WTF happened to her?? She beat an 81 year old woman for going too slow!! What or who so abused or maligned this girl that she has so much rage? I say poor girl NOT excusing her behavior, It made me sick to my stomach. I feel so sorry for her victim, Evelyn Lois Page, 81, who is lying in a hospital bed recovering from severe face and leg injures. Not only was Miss Page beaten and verbally assaulted, but was pulled from her car by miss Vasquez who tried to throw her into on-coming traffic! I have to pray that this young woman is punished for this crime and finds peace and understanding in life. I can’t imagine going through it with that level of anger. [♦ See bottom of page for update.]

My life is far from perfect right now, it’s pretty shitty on a lot of counts. I get angry. Sometimes prayer and meditation doesn’t work or yield the comfort I need. I yell at home to the heavens, I hit a pillow, I sometimes am moved to tears and I’ve been battling some blue-chip insomnia for quite a while now. I have to muddle through. Why, why why would this girl do this?? What would drive her? Just some random little old lady? This does make me angry. I’m channeling that anger into words here and posting this. It’s really all I can do.

Here’s the story:

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) – A south side woman is recovering in the hospital after being attacked while driving. Police said it’s a severe case of road rage.

Evelyn Lois Page, 81, is lying in a hospital bed recovering from severe face and leg injures. Page was in her car Wednesday morning when she said 19-year-old Jessica Vasquez attacked her.

“She reached in and popped me in the face and it was hard. It cut my face. They thought about putting a stitch in it.”

According to metro police, Page was driving her car when Vasquez stopped her and approached her vehicle.

“She said, ‘Well you pulled out in front of me and you were going slow and you should have been on the inner lane instead of the outer lane’,” said Page.

Here are a couple of videos of the story:

The WTHR (NBC) story is linked here.

– May 2 update: Police say Jessica Vasquez has been formally charged with one county of Aggravated Battery, which is a B felony.

Also on Friday, Vasquez was preliminarily charged with an Attempted Robbery of the WalGreens at 3205 E. Washington Street. Formal charges with the prosecutor are pending. Her bond is set at $100,000.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. indykari permalink
    May 2, 2008 10:57 pm

    It is scary what people will do, with no concern for human life or well being. One morning while driving to work I flipped my turn signal to change lanes. When space in the next lane opened, I could only assume the person was being kind enough to let me merge. Boy was I wrong! The man in the truck drove up next to me and while laying on the horn, he raced me down the street. I refused to look in his direction, but from the corner of my eye I could see him shaking his fist at me and pounding on his own window. I momentarily thought he was going to side swipe my car, or worse. Thankfully, after about 5 blocks I turned and he backed off. I was grateful. Unfortunately, the elderly woman in this story was hurt – God bless her recovery! I hope the girl who did this is punished and then straightens out her life.

    Pretty somber after this post, but thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad you enjoyed my “downtown symphony” today!

  2. seeker65 permalink*
    May 3, 2008 11:13 am

    Your post made me smile and brought me up, I’m afraid mine did just the opposite to you. Not my intention to bum folks out, just needed to vent.

    Thank you for your comment.

  3. myballs permalink
    May 6, 2008 11:23 pm

    The 19 year old is also charged with attempted robbery of a walgreen’s, her bail is set at 100,000 dollars, so she won’t be going anywhere for a long time…

  4. Jen L permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:12 pm

    I found this link while trying to see what has happened to Jessica since this incident. Evidently she got the maximum sentence of 20 years, and her appeal was denied.

    I worked at a strip club with Jessica right around the time this happened. I avoided her because I could tell by looking at her eyes that she was crazy. I’ll never forget hearing her tell stories to the house mom about being left alone as a child. She said her mother would leave her for a week or more, and she’d have to find food to eat, etc. From all accounts, she had a very abusive upbringing.

    I’d never make an excuse for this behavior, but I do think it was a failing all around. Someone should have intervened before Jessica got to this level. She is truly a sick person in need of help. Her mind is not right. Only someone who is psychotic would do something like this. Sadly, I do think that prison is the only place for her at this point.

Leave a Reply

