Skip to content

CSI:Star Trek – Capt. Wesley Crusher (Ummm… OK?!)

May 6, 2008

**UPDATE 07/08** I just wanted to state that I’m neither a Wesley hater or a Wil hater. I didn’t really like the character of Wesley. It wasn’t Wil’s fault. He did the best with it that he could, but the role kept getting smaller and smaller caving in to negative fan pressure. They could have done much, much more with the character but time, pressure, or lack of interest prevented this. I love reading wil’s blog and agree with most things that he says, esp Trek-wise. Just wanted to add that little caveat. okthnxbye!

Umm…. OK…. I have a problem with the idea of creating a Mary Sue Trek series centered around a Cannon character who’s nearly the very definition of the term; even more so in fan fiction. It’s fun wish fulfillment but the truth is, it’s JJ’s Trekverse now and we can either embrace it or not, there won’t be an “Ultimate Trek” anytime soon. But for some, well, they keep wishing, waiting, hoping… observe.

Captain Wesley Crusher, Starfleet Investigative Services

…but the next Trek series should take the opposite approach, narrow the scope and focus on aWesley Crusher. Yes, the much maligned ensign should be brought back as the captain of a Starfleet science vessel that warps around the Alpha Quadrant solving mysteries for the Federation. Think of it as CSI . . . in space! Here’s how it would work. few well-developed characters – primarily

And I know some of you would gnaw your own arms off to escape watching any TNG episode featuring Wesley Crusher. [hmmm… ya think?] Still, the idea of Captain Crusher and his Oberth class starship investigating murders, thefts, temporal discrepancies and bizarre engineering puzzles is very appealing.

Why Wes Crusher? The link to the past is an obvious benefit, and leaves plenty of room for cameos by old friends. But more importantly, today’s Wil Wheaton is not the Ensign Crusher you once knew and hated. n my mind (this idea literally came to me in a fever dream), Wil could convey a mature version of Wesley’s wide-eyed enthusiasm, a captain who loves solving problems with science and never loses touch with that “Wow, this stuff is really cool” attitude. Oh yeah, about that whole resigning from Starfleet and tripping around the universe with that space-hippie, The Traveler? One word: retcon.

So here is the reply from none other than Mr. Wheton hisself. Yes, I read one or both of these blogs regularly, what? Something wrong with that? *geeky deluded bliss* Actually Wil’s written his blog since 1999. It’s funny, well written, brutally honest, self-effacing and has won several awards.

How funny is it that I’m decrying the retcon and bitching about the “reinventing” of Star Trek on the same day that io9 writes Captain Wesley Crusher: SIS:

The whole thing is very entertaining, and I honestly don’t know what to say when a science fiction site says nice things about me, so I’ll just say thank you.

And this by Wil from a comments post.

Reprinted from a comment I left at Bad Astronomy Blog:

“Assuming it was serious, and CBS asked me to play Wesley again, I’d almost certainly say “thank you, but I think I’ll pass.” I’m 35 now; stepping back into a character that I haven’t really played (Nemesis doesn’t count) in 20 years doesn’t really appeal to me, especially since I’m more interested in writing than I am in on-camera acting.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. StarGirl permalink
    March 31, 2009 6:14 pm

    I absolutely love the idea of bringing Wesley into a Trek story as Captain! Even if Wil says he doesn’t think he would be interested in playing the part, someone should still at least write about it. There aren’t enough good Trek stories around nowadays, so I think it would be awesome. I do see what Wil means about how stepping back into the role would be hard, but in my opinion, that’s the cool thing about Starfleet. – You’re never to hard to get back in your uniform.

  2. StarGirl permalink
    March 31, 2009 6:19 pm

    “You’re never to hard to get back in your uniform.” Sorry, this was a typo on my part. I accidently combinded “It’s never to hard” and “You’re never to old.”

  3. StarGirl permalink
    March 31, 2009 6:22 pm

    I absolutely love the idea of bringing Wesley into a Trek story as Captain! Even if Wil says he doesn’t think he would be interested in playing the part, someone should still at least write about it. There aren’t enough good Trek stories around nowadays, so I think it would be awesome. I do see what Wil means about how stepping back into the role would be hard, but in my opinion, that’s the cool thing about Starfleet. – You’re never to old to get back in your uniform.

Leave a Reply

